One Year On

Exactly a year ago today was the day I found out that I had got ABBB in my A Levels which meant I had successfully gained my place at Manchester Met to do Speech Pathology and Therapy. I still remember the exact moment I read the email: I was at the top of the stairs in my house, about to walk down in order to go to the car so we could go to college to pick up my results. When I opened that email, I read it, re-read it, re-re-read it, and still thought I had read it wrong. I handed my phone to my Mum because I was shaking so much and crying, and she read it and said it was true, I had got in! That may sound like a dramatic turn of events, but I was genuinely so overwhelmed that I couldn’t allow myself to believe that it was true.

And looking back, it still feels surreal that in just 1 year I have come so far, and have achieved so much. So many things have happened in the last year that I never even contemplated before it all began. But each one of those things has helped shape me into the person I am right now, and I am proud to say I feel like I have grown as a person because of it all.
I feel it’s an important thing to look back sometimes; not to dwell on bad events, or to regret things that you have done. It’s good to simply look back to see how far you have come. And with that, you can then decide what you would like to happen in the year ahead. Set goals, whether they be personal, academic, sport-related, health-related, money-related. Whatever!

Remember: just because things may not be as you want them right now, that doesn’t mean they can’t change. Believe in yourself, and just keep going 🙂
I hope you all have a wonderful day!

 

Leave a Reply

