Celebrating Success

These past few weeks have been so incredibly busy so I haven’t been able to post, but I am hoping to start blogging more frequently now. ALL MY EXAMS AND COURSEWORK ARE OVER! I handed my last piece of coursework in on Wednesday, so now I am free from that stress 🙂 I am still at Uni, as we are starting second year work alongside preparing for placement (which takes place on the final week of the academic year *more about that in another post*).

This post is going to be about celebrating success. My year at university has been full of many successes- some big and some small. But all successes, no matter how big or how small, deserve to be celebrated.
One of my lecturers recently made the comment that we are all so good at putting ourselves down and pointing out the negatives of ourselves, yet we find it so difficult to pick out the positives- but it is so important that we do, and so that is what I intend to do!

Success no. 1 – I MADE NEW FRIENDS
I’m a very sociable person, and I LOVE a good chat. But I struggle a lot with my confidence in terms of meeting new people who are potentially going to be friends. For this reason I was clearly very anxious about starting uni in September 2015. The amount of times last summer that I must have Googled ‘how to make friends’ or ‘how to cope at uni without friends’ because I had convinced myself that I was going to be so lonely because I was commuting and because no one would like me.
THANK GOODNESS that is not the case at all! I have made the most incredible friends at university this year- we’re so close we say that we’re soul sisters ❤ I can hand on heart say that one of the reasons I love going to uni so much is because of the friends I have made, and I feel so lucky about that. So a huge thank you to my friends; without you I wouldn’t have discovered Veggie Percy Pigs 😉 I also wouldn’t have laughed as much, I would have missed so many trains because you wouldn’t have been there to make me run, and most of all I wouldn’t have become as strong a person as I am today.

Success no. 2 – I SURVIVED 2 PLACEMENTS ALREADY
This is a humongous success for me as I was so nervous before both of my placements. The state I got myself into in November before my first placement was ridiculous. I really enjoyed both my placements and felt that I gained valuable experiences from both of them. Working alongside other professionals sounded so scary, but in reality it did not feel that scary at all. At the end of the day, they are only humans and all of them have been students like me in the past, so they know what it feels like. Having said that, I am still really scared for my upcoming placement, but hopefully by writing this it will serve as a reminder that I CAN do these things and they are all positive experiences that are helping me get to where I want to be in life.

 Success no. 3 – I DID WELL IN MY VIDEO VIVA EXAM
This is honestly such a surprising success… I got a mark of 81% for my video viva 😀 I was so overwhelmed when I got my feedback that I genuinely nearly cried. There were so many stressful moments completing that work and exam that I just thought it was going to be a disaster, but thankfully it was not. I am so glad that I kept pushing myself to work on it; spend one more hour on it, think of one more point I could add. The hard work and perseverance definitely all paid off and I am so super proud of myself. Seeing how proud my family was when I told them also made it all worthwhile. So I did it Nanawin! I’m one step closer to becoming an SLT and I hope I’m making you proud ❤

I would LOVE to hear about any of your successes- big or small – so feel free to leave a comment below 🙂

3 thoughts on “Celebrating Success

  1. Okay so This may seem trivial to some but its quite a big thing for me and is definitely one of the highlights of my academic year. But I work with a child with autism on a one to one basis and I got him to take a bite out of an apple. Considering he doesn’t touch red food…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s such an achievement! I can’t even begin to imagine how hard that must have been, but I’m so proud of you for being patient and helping him to do that! Well I guess that’s a double achievement – for you and for him 🙂 that’s so lovely to hear. Thanks for sharing Sheema. I’m proud of you! 🌟

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

