Secondary School Placement

As I had mentioned in a previous post, I was absolutely terrified about attending this placement. And as much as this is a cliché, there was genuinely no need for me to be so nervous. I had an absolutely fantastic experience and feel so incredibly grateful to have gotten that insight. It was such a different environment than I experienced in high school; there was such a vast difference in my schooling and the children that attended this school, and I found that really interesting. I was only at the school for three days, but I feel that in that short space of time I learnt so much.

I saw first-hand how difficult being in a noisy classroom can be for children with special educational needs. I realised for the first time just how hard the day-t0-day life in a school can be such an uphill struggle for those who need a little extra support; from registration, class time, queuing up for lunch etc. The whole routine of school and the social aspects that occur alongside that can be terrifying and overwhelming to some pupils, but the school were absolutely fantastic in how they dealt with this. Special measures had been put in place to ensure that every child felt safe and secure in their school; if they were struggling to cope they knew exactly how the procedure worked to get help. I was blown away by the amazing SEN department and just how many facilities there were to aid children’s developing and learning.
As a child at school myself, I was aware that there was an SEN department and roughly what they did, but as an adult (despite not seeing myself as an adult, I technically am.. weird!) I really appreciated just how complex that job is, and I truly admire anyone who works in that area.

So to end this post I just want to say a massive thank you to the school for accommodating me and allowing me to truly experience a life in the day of a high school student who struggles a little bit more than others. I have learnt so many things that I will be able to take forward with me; not only from a SLT student point of view, but just in general and I feel this experience has made me become more open-minded and even more aware of others’ needs.

As usual, if anyone reads this and has any questions then feel free to ask 🙂

Leave a Reply

