Lucy’s Life – Career Choice

Ever since I was little I had wanted to be a primary school teacher. My primary school reports from when I was in Key Stage 1 all talk about how my favourite play activity was pretending to be a teacher and working at a school. My Mum is a teaching assistant at a school and I love hearing her stories when she comes home from work about what has happened that day. Even at Secondary School I still had my heart set of becoming a primary school teacher and my work experience placement was (surprise surprise) at a primary school! I loved the feeling when you realised you had helped a child to learn something new or even just put a smile on their face and brightened their day by encouraging and praising them.
When I was in year 9 at school, my great-grandma suffered a major stroke which left her unable to do a lot of things and she lost a lot of her functioning abilities including her ability to speak.
*a separate post will cover this in a lot more detail*
It was a devastating time for all my family but I was in awe at the wonderful work the speech therapists had done as I watched her continually improving slowly but surely. I contemplated whether that would be a good career for me but back then the emotions were too raw and I didn’t feel like I’d be able to cope in that profession as I was sure I’d be too upset as it would remind me of my great-grandma. The years passed and I’d almost forgotten about SLT as many other things were on my mind- GCSE’s, applying to college etc. But when I was searching through Uni guides and saw the SLT course I just knew it was the right thing for me.
I knew I wanted to help people and this course/profession opened up endless possibilities. I could end up working with children, young teenagers, young adults, the elderly… anyone! That is one of the most exciting aspects of the career; there are lots of people I could work with in lots of situations. I also love the fact that a lot of the work will involve cooperating as part of a multidisciplinary team, so I may be working alongside physiotherapists, doctors, nurses, carers etc. Similarly I will be helping the patient’s families through perhaps difficult times and giving them advice on how they can help their loved ones. It’s all about making people’s live’s better and I cannot wait to get started!

2 thoughts on “Lucy’s Life – Career Choice

Leave a Reply

